Neighborliness in Takoma Park

Tim and I arrived late Thursday afternoon, and began the chore of unloading the rental truck. Soon, Mark from a few doors down stopped by to harvest some of his late-season tomatoes. (It turns out that Hetty and Brian, my landlords, share their sunny back yard with three other families who have garden plots here.) He said he’d be back in awhile to help Tim unload the heaviest stuff, and he did; then Paul next door stopped over, too, to help unload and then to share some beers afterward.
It’s obvious this is a friendly neighborhood, with houses close together so people literally bump up against one another; sidewalks for walking and seeing people out and about; and kids running around in each other’s yards.
Over our beers, the other guys told us a little about our landlords: Brian has a pickup truck and car runnning on biodiesel (ie, vegetable oil) and raises honey out back. I was told to expect some great honey, and Brian and Hetty already have promised me some of the bounty of the harvest, and gave me some apples they picked at an organic farm in Virginia. They’ve also offered me some space in their greenhouse and a plot in the yard, although I may be content to help others weed and harvest rather than tackle something on my own.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

