Headaches of the Big City

OK, things aren’t all rosy being new to an area and not familiar with getting around.

Last week, I gathered up my courage and figured out how to get to a seminar on social media at the University of Maryland. I was terrified, actually, of taking a city bus at night and totally unsure of where I would end up and how to get to the building I needed to.  I’m quite comfortabale on the suburban commuter bus that I take to and from work, but I hadn’t yet navigated the big bus system. Thankfully, the bus driver was very nice and asked me exactly where I was headed and dropped me off a couple of doors away.

It got me thinking of the refugees I got to know in Albany and how much more scared they must be when they can’t even ask questions of anyone because they don’t know the language.

Yesterday the bus to work was really late and it was nippy outside waiting at the stop. It may not be too fun once the really cold weather sets in and there’s all that waiting around outside.

Then last night my cell phone died and I ended up walking all over Silver Spring, trying to find a battery for it. And without success. The guy at the Verizon store was feeling sorry for me and trying to help me out, but there was little he could do there. He referred me to the corporate store a few miles away to either get a battery or the basic replacement phone I have on my plan.

Since I had taken the bus to work, I didn’t have my car with me. I would have to go home and get it and then venture out in the rain. That wasn’t going to happen at night on roads I’m not familiar with, with my bad eyesight. So it’ll have to wait until Thursday when I return from two days in Philadelphia for a staff planning retreat.

If I were still in Albany, I would have known exactly where to go to get the needed technical assistance — or, at least, who to ask to find out — and gotten there by car without a thought about it.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Headaches of the Big City

  1. ANNE PAYE says:

    This is so personal, Marianne, readers can relate to it. It seems like a change in style.

    Try this for the cell phone: press the keys *3370# Your phone should start with reserve power giving you 50% increase in power. The reserve will be charged when you charge the battery next time. Hope it works. Interestingly, I learned this in a forward from you Mother, “5 Things You Never Knew Your Cell Phone Could Do,” at ww.snopes.com/inboxer/household/cellphones.asp

Leave a Reply

