Christmas in DC

I was hoping to experience Christmas in DC a little bit more fully, but busyness at work and other weekend opportunities got in the way.

I was in Union Station a few times and enjoyed the huge Norwegian Christmas toy train display. I stopped by the National Christmas Tree across from the White House but was disappointed that my poor eyesight prevented me from seeing the ornaments encased in the globes on the 56 little trees that represent each of the states and territories. But I got a chuckle on the walk back when seeing The Grinch That Stole Christmas being projected against a wall of a business building.

I ushered for the musical version of Ahe Christmas Carol at historic Ford’s Theatre, where Lincoln was shot. The presidential box is still there, with an original couch and chair.

Socially, I mustered up some courage and attended some events where I knew few people. There was a potluck supper with the local chapter of the Apppalachian Mountain Club; a holiday party at NETWORK (a Catholic social justice advocacy orgnaization) and dinner at Union Station afterward; and a Winter Solstice ritual and supper.

I didn’t get to the exhibit of Christmas window displays at the Americann History Museum or the hundreds of nativity sets at the National Cathedral. But there’s always next year.

Now that I’ve listed all the activities of the past few weeks, I guess I did experience Christmas here fully after all. And I still have a couple of Epiphany (Jan. 6) events to go to when I return from a visit with family and friends.

I’ll be offline for about 10 days. I’ll be back in touch in early 2011. Meanwhile, have a very merry Christmas!

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

