Officially a Maryland Resident

Well, I’m now a card-carrying Maryland resident.

If I ever get stopped by the police while driving, I’ll be producing a Maryland driver’s license. And when election time rolls around again, I’ll be enrolled to vote here.

It took awhile to accomplish all of this, but it feels good to have a shiny new license with a pretty good photo, and to have shiny new plates to put on the car.

The big sticking point was concern for my very poor eyesight. I thought I’d have to wait until after my cataract surgery to pass the eye exam. But the eye doctor’s assistant said that she evaluated me as just barely passing, so I got her to sign a Motor Vehicles form attesting to that fact.

The next step was getting my car inspected, which I was shocked to find out costs $75. But it’s good for as long as I keep the car. (Just imagine all those old clunkers on the road that haven’t had anyone check them out for safety in decades.)

Then I went to the Motor Vehicles office, forms in hand that I had downloaded from the Internet. The first trip, I didn’t have all the required proofs of residency. Second trip, the offices were closed due to a “workforce reduction day.”

The third time was a charm, with me getting it all taken care of within an hour. I felt very lucky, given that a co-worker spent 3 1/2 hours there one afternoon. I learned that first thing in the morning is the best time to avoid long waits.

While there, I agreed to register to vote at the same time, participating in the “motor-voter law” I’d read about that facilitates such ease of registration.

Next week I’ll complete the whole process by getting my NY plate taken off and my Maryland plates put on, and then sending the NY plates back to NY.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Officially a Maryland Resident

  1. Rose says:

    Sounds like everything is falling right into place for you. Do you have snow there as well for you? That I am sure will be the icing on the cake! 🙂 Hope all continues to go well for you. Peace

    • mariannedc says:

      We had a dusting of snow this morning and very slight flurrying for just about an hour. I suspect that if we get more than 3 inches it’s a real big deal down here, even after the “snowmaggedon,” as they call it, last year.

Leave a Reply

