Celebrating a Birthday in DC

I was wondering how I’d celebrate my birthday in a new city with few friends. But I needn’t have concerned myself about that, as it turned out to be a delightful day of surprises.

I went to the church I’ve been attending and decided to officially join. They had liturgical dancing today and especially upbeat music, which just put me in a wonderful mood. Then afterward, I went to a reception for newcomers and learned about all the wonderful community activities that I could get involved with, such as English-language tutoring for the large population of Central Americans.

One of my neighbors is very involved in the parish and we drove together today, then went to lunch with a group who often share a meal together after Mass. They enjoy trying various ethnic restaurants and today’s pick was Burmese, which I had never had before. I had a delicious soup filled with bits of seafood and chicken, rice noodles and vegetables, along with a peanut-cabbage salad that had just a little spice to it.

Then I used a Regal birthday coupon for a free film, and very much enjoyed The King’s Speech.

The day concluded with dinner at a co-worker’s house that turned into a birthday party complete with a bouquet of flowers and a birthday cake.

Inbetween there were birthday songs and greetings left on my voice mail.

I do miss my friends back in the Albany area, but it’s wonderful to see new relationships forming and communities I am starting to feel some connection to.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

