Run-ins with Police

I haven’t been stopped by a police officer in decades. Then the other day I was in two cars that got pulled over by the flashing lights of a patrol car.

The first one was all me: I was driving to a rendezvous point for a hike and was so intent on following the signs for the Metro that I didn’t even see a stop sign. When the local policeman walked up to me I wasn’t at all aware of what I had done until he told me how I had just driven through one. He was really nice, though, and just gave me a warning — no fine, no points.

Then later n the afternoon we were driving back to the rendezvous point in a cool Prius, and just before our exit off the Beltway, the flashing lights of a state trooper pulled us over. It turns out the driver hadn’t gotten his brake light fixed and a front headlight was out. He also got a warning and an order to get the repairs done within 30 days and show the proof of completion at any police station for them to sign off on. He was really bummed as he said the headlamp, which uses special bulbs, would cost quite a bit of money,
.
So now I’ve met our local and state police and know they’re watching out for us — at least on the roadways.

As a side note, our neighborhood email listserve has regular postings from the secretary to the chief of police, with notices of burglary attempts and such. A real shock came the other day when news came out that there was a bank robbery in another part of town; the guy apparently held someone hostage very briefly and after leaving the building was shot and killed by the responding police.

I live in a real village-like setting, and this occurred at the intersection of two local highways, kinda like the intersection of Wolf Rd. and Central Ave., for my Albany-area friends to have some reference. It’s across from a 7-11 where I bought a newspaper early on in my life here. It’s maybe 4 miles from my house, but worlds away as far as culture and environment.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

