What’s a Justice Educator?

Some of you may be wondering: what does a social justice educator actually do?

Well, I’ll tell you, it’s quite varied and interesting, at least with the Sisters of Mercy.

Sometimes I’m at my computer writing an action alert for the few hundred people signed up to receive emails from us on issues related to poverty, immigration, nonviolence and care for the Earth. I give them a little bit of background about the issue and then give them a link to go to to send a message to their legislators with just a couple clicks of the mouse. Please consider joining us, as since you’re friends of mine you’re automatically what we call Friends of Mercy and part of our circle. You can sign up here.

Or I might be writing a blog post for our website or editing something someone else has written. We’ve had some really insightful pieces lately, including reflections from Sisters ministering to people affected by the drug-cartel violence in northern Mexico, near the Texas border, and another from a Sister who was part of a campaign to contact hotels near the Super Bowl site to educate them about the prominence of human trafficking during that event.   

At other times I might be writing a statement for the website in response to some big news item, such as the president’s State of the Union address or the shootings in Tucson.

I helped prepare resources for a campaign that signed up more than 350 people to make New Year’s resolutions to advocate for immigration reform, and am now preparing educational materials on the federal budget process as we address concerns about drastic budget cuts to programs and services critical to persons who are poor and vulnerable.

Sometimes I’m on a conference call or attending a meeting in DC to learn mmore about an issue. This Monday, for instance, I’m going to a State Department briefing on human trafficking.

Soon I’ll be shepherding postings to a new blog we’ll have that focuses on how people are making lifestyle changes to minimize their carbon footprint or otherwise address concerns for Earth.

And then there are the social events, such as a reception at one of the legislative buildings near the Capitol to honor the 4 religious women killed in El Salvador 30 years ago for their solidarity with the oppressed there, and on Tuesday I’ll be at a reception honoring the woman who negotiated the START nuclear treaty with the Russians (her cousin is a Sister of Mercy).

Life here is certainly interesting, and I love my job. But I do miss my friends and family, as it takes time to build up true friendships. So please keep in touch.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

