Playing Tourist Part 1

My sister Carolyn and my neices Olivia, 11, and Rose, 9, came to visit for several days over their school spring break. We had a big slumber party in my apartment and had lots of fun sightseeing throughout DC.

I took a couple of days off to join them on some adventures.

Their first day I had an eye doctor appointment so met up with them later in the morning. My sister told me that the girls were so excited after exiting the Smithsonian Metro station and seeing the Washington monument. Rose said, “This is the best day of my life!”

They each have a camera and documented the whole experience, so lots of pictures of monuments and the Capitol.

We did a lot of walking that first day: the Lincoln Memorial, to the Vietnam Memorial and then back up the Mall to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. That was a fascinating place, seeing how they make our bills. There were stacks and stacks of 100s on the factory floor, and I imagine they must have incredible security measures to make sure workers don’t walk off with bills tucked under their sleeves.

While walking back across the Mall we saw some helicopters circling and one landing at the White House. Our imaginations ran toward wondering if the president was returning home from some event. I learned a couple of days later that his girls sometimes get a helicopter ride home from school, so it might have been them, instead.

Another stop: the National Archives, which I found utterly fascinating. In additioin to the highlights of a display of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, there were many interactive displays that tell stories through documents. For instance, one featured someone wanting to get Social Security for his immigrant grandfather, but they had to prove that he was a citizen. So they found records of his passage across the Atlantic, his arrival at Ellis Island and then the papers of his parents becoming citizens, which made him, then a child, a citizen, too. I hope to return someday to check out more of those displays.

We ended the day in front of the White House, with lots of posing going on for photos to prove my neices were there.

Stay tuned for more adventures of exploring DC with my sister and neices….

Photo: Spring is in full bloom in Takoma Park, with our side yard filled with azaleas

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

