Seaside Sojourn

This past weekend I joined the many from the DC area who head to the shore sometime over the summer. In just 2 1/2 hours I was in Dewes, Del., driving over a few bridges en route through quaint towns along the banks of the Chesapeake Bay.

I rode my bike around the dunes of Cape Henlopen State Park and then along a canal laden with boats of all shapes and sizes that leads into Delaware Bay. Then I left my car in the parking lot of the Lewes-Cape May ferry and boarded the ship with just my bike, reaching the other side in about 1 1/2 hours.

From there, I pedaled about 6 miles to Poverty Beach, the far, quieter end of the string of beaches in Cape May, and met up with my friend Lin and her mom and friend Julie.

We spent the rest of the afternoon at the beach, and most of the next afternoon, too, until some showers alerted us it was time to get off the sand. It was fun watching dolphins play in the water, surrounded by boats with gaping tourists, and watch kids on boogie boards and others in kayaks.

Sunday was pretty gloomy, so Lin and I walked around Cape May’s historic area after Mass. What a lovely community, with gingerbread-trimmed Victorian houses painted in colors ranging from dark reds to bright pinks and greens.

The return home came with a bit more drama, with the ferry boat rocking rather wildly at times in a growing storm. I disembarked in the rain and was soaked by the time I got myself and my bike to my car in the parking lot. Traffic was bumper-to-bumper from nearly Lewes to the Bay Bridge, about 90 miles away. I broke up the trip with a stop at one of the many farmstands along the way selling local melons, peaches, berries and tomatoes.

I got home just in time for a storm here, which resulted in a literal waterfall flowing down one side of the laundry room section of the basement where I live. My landlords immediately responded to the emergency and began opening up a large drain and sopping up the water with a wet vacuum. After a very dry summer, we got about 2 inches of rain in 45 minutes, according to one weather observer.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

