Transportation Snafus

The past two weekends came with lots of transportatoin snarls that I could only laugh off and count as part of the experience of living without a car.

First off, the Saturday before Halloween a friend and I went to Georgetown for a walk of the streets that featured stops at various buildings for tales of hauntings within. We took the Metro about halfway there, and then rather than waiting to change trains, we hopped on a series of buses that incrementally got us nearer our destination.

The return trip was equally convoluted, with another series of bus trips in DC to get to the Metro and then having to overshoot our Metro stop in order to catch the very last bus home at 12:30 a.m. And this was for an outing I thought would have me home by 11 at the latest.

If it had been up to me, I would have taken the Metro and walked the rest of the way, but my friend knows the bus system better than I do and we kept catching buses to stay out of the cold.

Then the same friend and I plus another friend decided we’d go hiking together. Neither Robin nor I have a car, and Sue’s husband had hers away for the weekend. So we looked at the hiking club offerings and called to sign up for one that met at a Metro station. Well, the leader said he didn’t have any drivers, only people without cars who wanted to be passengers to the trailhead, so he was going to cancel the hike. But I got him to take my phone number in case a driver called at the last minute. In the meantime, after a few phone calls and emails, my friends and I came up with our own hiking plan in Rock Creek Park. Just as we finalized that, I got a call from the hike leader that he got enough drivers for us to go on his hike, so I called the two other gals with the news and we switched plans for that. While I was on the phone with one friend, the hike leader called back with all kinds of apologies saying that the driver had called again to cancel out, so we were out of luck again. A couple of more phone calls, and we were back to our own plan, which involved bicycling to a nature center and then walking from there. Much better to be in control of our schedules — and transportation.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

