Birthday Partying in D.C.

I’ve been celebrating my 50th birthday since the first party with my family a couple of days after Christmas, when we were all together in Boston.

This past weekend and Monday I had my D.C. celebrations.

The weather on Saturday was springlike, with sun and temps in the 60s. So of course I went out for a bike ride. My friend Ted and I were out about 3 hours, cycling out to Lake Artemesia and then walking around that natural area, looking at birds and enjoying the day.

On Sunday I went to a French three kings’ party hosted by my friend Christiane from Cannes, who works at the French Embassy. She baked a few special traditional cakes, with a trinket baked into each one. I got a slice with the prize, and so got to wear a crown and be queen for the night. Very appropriate given that it was the eve of my birthday, although no one there knew that.

I walked into the office on Monday to find my door covered with balloons and “50” stickers, confetti strewn all over the floor and desk, and a bouquet of flowers and a cake, I was serenaded with “happy birthday” at the start of a conference call, and afterward taken out to lunch.

It started snowing early afternoon and there was a very thin coating on the ground when Ted and I walked to dinner. What a final present to finally enjoy the white stuff, so late into the season.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

