Farmers Market Touring

It’s only late June and I’ve already been to four farmers markets in the area — two of them by bicycle. Now I’m making a game out of seeing how many I can check out by the end of the season.

I went to the Sunday market right here in Takoma Park earlier in the spring, when there were surprisingly many fruits and vegetables for sale. It’s going to take a few years for me to used to local strawberries in mid-May. I walked there and picked up a few things, including some local Italian sausage, then took the bus home to avoid having to carry my goodies too long a distance.

Then my friend Kathy and I met for breakfast in downtown Silver Spring one Saturday and wandered around the market there, which features live entertainment as well as local produce, meats, cheese, yogurt, baked goods and even soap. I bought some stew lamb and chicken breasts to stock my freezer.

My neighbor and friend Pat went out for a bike ride after work one Thursday, stopping at a small market in Riverdale Park. There weren’t many stalls of fruits and vegetables, but plenty of homemade dinner offerings. We tried some selections from an Indian chef, and sat down on steps in the parking lot and enjoyed supper: she a chicken wrap and me a chickpea curry and potato fritters.

A couple of weeks later we cycled to a very closeby market on a Wednesday evening. Again, this was smaller in scale but offered lots of produce, and the prices seemed a little lower since the clientele is more working class. It was fun filling my panniers with strawberries, zucchini and tomatoes and pedaling around for awhile before heading home.

Let’s see what other markets I can find — and get to by bike or public transportation.

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

