Avoided Big Storm and Beastly Heat

What great timing to take a vacation!

While the DC suburbs were in the dark after a big storm knocked out power to a million or so people and then the temps topped 95 degrees for 11 straight days, I was up in Albany and the Lake George area enjoying more reasonable weather.

My parents had rented a big house in Lake Luzerne and my sisters, their husbands and kids, my parents, me and my boyfriend Ted made the most of it. We swam and kayaked in the nearby lake, hiked Hadley Mountain, watched fireworks directly over our heads on the 4th of July and hand-cranked ice cream. My friend Tim and I also hiked #43, 44 and 45 of our High Peaks, with just Colden to go, hopefully sometime this fall.

Then when I returned home and stepped out of the Baltimore-Washington airport, it was like walking into a sauna, at 102 steamy degrees at 6:30 p.m. The next morning it was already 91 degrees by 9 a.m.

I heard lots of horror stories of the days that I had missed: a 71-year-old woman who lived near a friend’s house was killed when a tree fell on her; a dozen or so people died due to the heat.

My apartment had been without power for 4 days, and I was grateful that my landlords emptied out my freezer, taking some of the things to a relative’s house and tossing out the rest. That spared me returning to rotten food to clean out.

Thankfully the weather broke the day after I returned, cooling off the area to temps in the mid 80s. Much more reasonable, for sure.

 

About mariannedc

I just moved from Albany, NY, to the Washington, DC, area and many friends and former co-workers want to hear about my life here. So this seemed like a great way to do that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

